Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Three Must Read Books For Fall

If you're looking for some new books to read during the Fall season, I hope I can help you out. No mysteries or thrillers or vampires (Denise!), just pure, lovable reads with real, heart felt characters and strong story lines. Y'all know how much I love novels and so today I'm going to share a few!

16158535

So technically, Fall doesn't begin until September 22nd, so I can still include this one on the list. A Hundred Summers is really a detailed story of a love triangle between Lily, her former best friend and her former fiance. The fact that it takes place on an eastern seashore and set back in the late 1930's make the storyline all the more captivating. I'm seriously considering reading this one again (and I hardly ever read books more than once) and all my Goodreads friends gave this one five stars, too! Read it before summer officially ends!  

32148570

Goodreads says, "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale." In my opinion, this one is better than the Orphan Train. Maybe it's because we love visiting Memphis so much and to learn something so heart wretching actually occurred there was what drew me in to this touching novel. To me, this book is everything that I tell my own girls: Family First (after God, of course!).  

A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove is my favorite book of 2017 so far, so if I had to pick any of these three to read first, I would choose this one. This book made me smile, made me cry, made me laugh out loud and made me cry and laugh out loud at the same time. It's just a great feel-good, happy ending novel. Ove reminded me of the grumpy and cantankerous Mr. Wilson from the Dennis the Menace movie and how he is transformed by the kindness and love of his neighbors is remarkable and compelling. A very must, must-read.

26 comments:

  1. Adding A Hundred Summers to my list now!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you'll enjoy it!

      Delete
  2. I read A Hundred Summers last year I think and I loved it so much. Such a great book. Adding Before We Were Yours - I was so-so on Orphan Train. A Man Called Ove is on my list too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've seen Ove popping up on several lists today and that makes me smile! Happy Tuesday!

      Delete
  3. We are Ove twins this time around. & I agree, its totally my favorite of the year!!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Any book my BFF loves, I will too! Adding these to the list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can't wait to hear what you think!

      Delete
  5. A Hundred Summers was my favorite. I had no luck with Ove, I didn't finish that one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, no! I hate you didn't finish Ove.

      Delete
  6. I need to read more. I have tons of excuses as to why I'm not and I just need to ! I always enjoy reading. Thanks for sharing your MUST READ BOOKS !!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I just finished A Man Called Ove and it will be in my September book review. If you liked that book, I highly recommend you read Beartown if you haven't already. I read that one first and loved it! Which led me to read Ove.

    ReplyDelete
  8. All of these books look fantastic. I need to read more, make more time for it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Okay, I'm adding A Hundred Summer to my TBR. Ove has been on there forever. I should tackle it soon as I've seen so much praise for it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can't wait to hear hwat you think about these two selections!

      Delete
  10. I have yet to read a Backman book. Keep seeing them everywhere, though.

    I just read your bio and am so happy to have another cheer mom joining us! #cheermomsunite

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes!! Definitely a cheer mom! In more ways than one!

      Delete
  11. What a super buffet! I love recommendations like this and all three are the kinds of fiction I like...historical, good endings, honest types of relationships. I am writing them down for TBR! Thanks so much.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope at least one of them become a favorite Linda! Thank you for your comment!

      Delete
  12. I don't usually read books more than once either! I'll have to check out some of these books :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Would love to know which ones you liked, Ashley! Enjoy and happy reading!

      Delete
  13. I liked A Man Called Ove too. Such a sweet book. I want to read one of his others now.(if I ever get around to reading another book...LOL)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I totally agree with you about A Man Called Ove! It's such a good book! And I've heard great things about A Hundred Summers, so I need to pick it up before it's officially fall!

    ReplyDelete
  15. A Hundred Summers sounds good. I really like Beatriz Williams.

    ReplyDelete
  16. All of these books would be new reads to me. I have been wanting to read 100 Summers and a Man Called Ove. And now I have a new book to add to the list. Thanks for sharing Laura!

    ReplyDelete
  17. These sound fabulous! Requesting them from the library right now.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I read Ove last month too. Gosh the writing was so good. It made me laugh just during comparisons or his grumpy observations. It definitely made me sad too. The gamut of emotions, but a good read! A Hundred Summers is on my TBR! :) Here (super late!) from SUYB! :) XO - Alexandra

    Simply Alexandra: My Favorite Things

    ReplyDelete